{2006-02-17}
Doctor's Appointment

Yesterday I had my doctor's appt and everything was good. The baby had a heartbeat of 151, my blood pressure was perfect and the weight I have gained is right on track. I am trying to keep my weight gain at a minimum. The recommended weight gain for my pre-pregnancy height and weight is 25 - 35 lbs. I'm sure I'll be around 25-30.
I always take the first appt available in the morning so that I don't have to wait long. Yesterday morning there was only one person before me and I only had to wait 10 minutes. The first thing you do is pee in a cup. I went to the bathroom for this and managed to drop my purse when I hung up my jacket and everything fell out of my purse. Including about $2 in change. What a PAIN! Nothing else too eventful. They drew blood and it actual didn't hurt as much as the last time. I really hate getting poked with needles so I was relieved. I scheduled my ultrasound for March 6th and we will then find out what we are having. I have a feeling it will be a boy.
When I first moved to Dallas I went to my OB/GYN appt and I still didn't know my way around so of course I got lost for about half hour before finding the place. I was in tears when I finally got there. I was just so tired of being lost all the time! I had to wait for about 40 minutes after I got there because I was late. Finally I get into the room and get undressed and am waiting for the doctor when all of a sudden the fire alarms go off. I wasn't sure what to do. I was going to get dressed but then they were knocking on each door and telling us to leave. So I grabbed my purse and walked out into the main office where everyone else was. They thought it was a false alarm so they didn't have us leave yet. Six firemen with axes come through the door. Apparently the lights burned out and started smoking and set the fire alarm off. We were all standing there in our peekabo gowns waiting for them to leave. The good thing was all the firemen were very good looking! My best friend Lisa worked close by so she stopped by our doctor's office on her way home and the nurses were telling her the story when I came out of my appointment. We had a good laugh over that one. I'm not sure what made me think of that...
Last night I had a dream that I had my baby. It was a beautiful baby boy and he reminded me of my late nephew Zachery. It was a very nice dream and funny too. When the nurses brought the baby to me he was talking! How funny! I think it's even more funny because RML is a talker. He talks nonstop. The baby and I were watching the news and he started talking about stocks and which he would choose. The dream had such a realistic quality to it also because I could actually feel the baby in my arms and he fell asleep. It was so sweet. I am not sure where RML was during all of this but in part of my dream I had to leave the hospital in my gown and go home to get him. I was pretty mad at him for not being there and then the alarm went off. 5:30 comes way too quick.
Madison is having a "white-trash" theme party for her 30th. I wish I could be there. I have a feeling my 30th will come and go somewhat unnoticed since we will be in IL for my cousin's wedding on my birthday.