{2004-12-24}
Christmas Eve 2004

Bob's Mom made it safely from Cleveland to Houston. It's lucky that she flew in on Tuesday because there were many cancellations due to inclement weather. It's 37 degrees here in Houston. In HOUSTON! 37 friggin' degrees! Can you believe it? I can. Dallas is worse. 32 and feels like 24. My parents have 1 degree and feels like - 16!

I'm so happy! I just found out that my brother Patrick is going to be back in the states and for good (hopefully) and stationed in California at Camp Pendleton. He is also supposed to be in Georgia for a few week training. He is taking a month leave once he gets back in the beginning of January and will be heading to WI. I plan to go up there for a long weekend to spend with him and my family. I am really glad to have a really good reason to go up north in the middle of winter ... last year I had my Grandmother's funeral to attend. I have a feeling there will be another funeral soon. My Mom's cousin Kerry is getting worse every day. He asked his daughter to move up her wedding to last weekend. She was supposed to get married in February. He didn't make it to the wedding after all their planning - one week to plan - he was rushed to intensive care that night after the rehearsal dinner. My heart aches for my cousin's - I can't imagine what it would be like to lose my Dad at such a young age - Bob and his Mom are spending their first Christmas without his Dad. Death sucks and is so sad and hard to understand. My Grandfather sent me a Christmas card and he said that he misses my Grandpa Babe terribly and now more than ever realizes how wonderful a woman she was and is. I think Bob and I have that kind of love.

Yesterday I did my Buns of Steel video and my ass is SORE! It's amazing that even after running 3 miles a day doing a video can make me sore. I guess it's just the different muscle movements.

Well, I will write more soon. We are heading to the 5PM Mass but need to be there by 4:30 so we can get our seats and park. Of course since it's the coldest day of the year I will wear a skirt. I just think it is appropriate to dress up for the holidays ... after all it is Jesus' birthday.

On a side note. My Mom had a woman come through her checkout on Wednesday. (My Mom got her first job at Farm and Fleet as a cashier). The woman's name was Heather (my Mom saw that from her check) and my Mom commented on how cute her baby was and she said - "thank you - that's our little Zachery..."... How strange? A woman on the 22nd with the same name and same baby name as my sister.


Every time I hear that song "I'll be home for Christmas" it makes me tear up... I get so emotional this time of year. Today is a depressing day...

2005 hurry up and get here already!