{2004-11-13}
So far apart but so close in our hearts....

I spoke to my cousin Cindy tonight for over an hour. Everytime I talk to her I remember just how much I love and miss her. We always have so much to talk about and it's as if we haven't been apart. Some days it makes me sad that I live so far from my favourite people. Cindy's Dad, Kerry, is very sick... he has cancer. Originally they found a small tumor in his lymph nodes under his arm... since then they have found much more over the past year and he's been in continuous treatment. Last weekend he was feeling so sick that his wife, Mary took him to the ER. He was immediately taken to Milwaukee due to the severity... he has a tumor in his brain that was pressing his brain into his spinal cord and he was losing feeling and couldn't walk. They were able to reduce the swelling somehow... the doctors give him only 3 months to live. I always wonder how they are able to make that kind of diagnosis and whether or not there is any accuracy in this. I can't imagine what will happen if Kerry dies. I'm at a loss for words. His Mother, my Grandma Babe's sister my Great Aunt Dolly, keeps asking God "Why? It should have been me that died, not Babe and it should be me who is sick, not my son..." Cindy says that she looks to the heavens and says "it's just not fair Babe.. why???"

A cute story as to why my Grandma and her sister Dolly have those nicknames. Their Mother, Great Grandma Nelson, Amelia named them Ethel and Ann. They were named after relatives so my Great Grandma did not like the names and decided that they should have names they could live with so she called them Babe and Dolly and the names stayed with them for all their lives. My cousin Cindy calls her little girls Reyna baby and Skyler dolly. I think that is too cute.

Well, time to watch some Sex and the City reruns... sometimes I wish I had a year in their lives... mine here in Suberbia is somewhat dull... no one hits on me because if they do their wives will sink their teeth in their necks.

Have I said how much I love Bob? I do. I love him, I love him, I love him....