{2004-11-13}
How many best friends can one have??? As many as you want.

When I was little, I used to believe in the concept of one best friend, and then I started to become a woman. And then I found out that if you allow your heart to open up, God would show you the best in many friends.

One friend's best is needed when you're going through things with your children. Another friend's best is needed when you're going through things with your Momma. Another when you want to shop, share, heal, hurt, joke, or just be you. One friend will say let's pray together, another let's cry together, another let's fight together, another let's walk away together. One friend will meet your spiritual need, another your shoe fetish, another your love for movies, another will be with you in your season of confusion, another will be your clarifier, another the wind beneath your wings. But what ever their assignment in your life, on whatever the occasion, on whatever the day, or whereever you need them to meet you with their gym shoes on and hair pulled back or to hold you back from making a complete fool of yourself... those are your friends. It may all be wrapped up in one woman, but for many it's wrapped up several ... one from 7th grade, one from high school, several from the college years, a couple from old jobs, several from church, on some days your mother, on others your sisters, and on some days it's the one that you needed just for that day or week that you needed someone with a fresh perspective, or the one who didn't know all your baggage, or the one who would just listen without judging... those are good girlfriends/best friends.

I thank my girlfriends, those who honor intimacy, those who hold trust, and those who hold me up when life is just too heavy! The special bond we share is unique.

Thanks for the words we've shared. The prayers we've sent up. The laughs, the tears, the phone calls, the emails, the shopping, the movies, the lunches, the dinners, the talking, talking, talking and the listening, listening, listening....

So whether you've been there 50 minutes or 50 years, I love you!

My best friends:

Heather - my very first best friend ever. Since I can remember, she was my best friend. We played dolls together, rode bikes together, went swimming together, walked to school together, went shopping together, rode the bus together, rode to school together... we made believe together... went to camp together... took me out with her and her "cool" friends... She was the first person I drank or smoked with... ha ha... I loved her piano playing and singing.. and I loved her sweet little angel boy Zachery - my nephew... God, I miss them so much... thank you God for loaning them to me as long as you did. She was a true shining star with a little twinkle star, Zachery, in her arms...

Andrea - best friend for 6 years... we used to be single best friends, party girlfriends, my rock when boys made me cry, fashion coordinating friend, upbeat, happy, beautiful with not a mean bone to her. She is genuine and a diamond in the rough.

Michelle - sister best friend. We weren't always best friends but with age we realized what we meant to one another as well as the fact that we bonded when we lost a sister. Michelle shows me how to be laid back and let things roll off your back, how to not be judgemental towards people... how to not get wrapped up in material things. She is a bouquet of sunflowers and daisies - pure and natural.

Promise - another sister best friend. I have loved this little girl since day one. She was so beautiful and sweet and had such a sweet angelic voice that she carries with her today. She is loving, caring, happy, my workout buddy when I visit... she was my workout buddy when she was 4 and I was doing my "Buns of Steel" workout. I still can picture that sweet little tow head trying to do the workout with me. She's my waterski pal and "let's compare tans" best friend. A true gift from God.

Lisa - the sister God gave me when I lost my sister... my best friend I moved far from home to be with... my shopping buddy, Victoria's Secret co-worker... "if i have to fold one more stinkin' panty..." fun times. My grey goose at the pool friend, my crazy party girl friend, my favorite dental assistant, my favorite church pal... my always friend through thick and thin, my "let's have a good fight or cry" friend. I love you more than you know... A true jewel of the nile.

Kristin - my "your so mean mean mean" friend... my last best friend I ever made in Rockford, IL ... my Outback girl... my "let's be bitches" girl, my Chi-town friend... my friend who didn't judge me.. .my friend who told me like it was... My true advice friend - full of good advice... when I want to hear it like it is this girl has it going on. My smart, hard-working friend, my shoe pal... my LA Rodeo Drive shopping pal "thanks Kaiz!"... my LA girl.... We have a bond that stretches over the miles that keeps stretching and never breaks no matter how many turns we make... she is a true ray of sunshine with a heart of gold and a personality of pure platinum.

My Momma Bear - my best friend, nurturing, caring, unconditional love friend... loves me with every breath she will ever take... only wants the best for me... my friend I can be silly with but still go to when I am sad and need my "mother bear" hugs. My caretaker when I'm sick... my best friend who always took me to church and told me about Jesus and his love for all of us... my best friend who loved me even when I was a horrible, rotten daughter... my best friend that I am blessed to have always had in my life from day one to year 99... she will always be part of me... She is as beautiful as the sun rise sparkling on the lake first thing in the morning... she is a flower that never wilts... I love you Momma!

Salute! to my best girlfriends!