{2004-07-15}
Wheel watcher

Remember that commercial for Wheel of Fortune that people were singing "I'm a wheel watcher...?"

Quote of the day: "The best way to double your money is to fold it over once and put it in your pocket."

Speaking of watchers:

This morning on my way to work I decided to call my WI grandparents. I try to give them a call every month or so and write a letter every month at least to keep in touch. My Grandparents are retired (of course) and those chose to retire in WI - the same area they have vacationed since my Grandpa was a little boy. This area has been infested with the "L" family for 2 generations now. Anyway... one of their favorite things to do is to sit in their sun room and watch the birds, comment about the flowers/trees/grass and look for wildlife. Two weeks ago on a Wednesday evening they were sitting out there as usual around 8:30PM when suddenly my Grandma gasped. My Grandpa looked up and saw what it was that had startled her. It was a B-E-A-R! He sauntered into their yard and walked up near the house then strolled over to the squirrel and bird feeders. He decided his job was to do a "feeder inspection". He just looked at the feeder and then stood up on his hind legs (my Grandpa swears he was at least 7 feet tall) and started tinkering with the feeder. My Grandpa didn't want him to knock it over so he yelled out the window "hey dere fella, what are you doing up nort in my yard? get outta here, ya?" or something along those lines - he he. Anyway, the bear glanced over his shoulder at my Grandpa and went back on all fours then leisurely made his way to the fence, shimmied up the tree and hopped over to the other side. This bear apparently is not too worried about people. He was just doing the neighborly thing and inspecting all the squirrel feeders - just trying to do his job, minding his own business... Wilbur and Dakota - my Grandparents dog-babies - wouldn't stop barking for at least half hour after Mr. Bear left. This is the 5th time there has been a bear in their back yard. Crazy, eh?

RML made it to my place around 10 last night. I was in a very blase mood - not happy, not sad but feeling a little alone - not lonely - I think I was missing my family. I really need to get up North to see them. I love my sisters! Back to RML - he was in a very wound up mood - luckily I had Pei Wei waiting for him when he got there since I knew he'd be hungry - what a good girlfriend am I! After he ate he settled down a bit and then we went to bed - within 5 minutes he was out. I tossed and turned for about 30 minutes and then finally fell asleep. This morning I woke up laughing because of a dream I had about my Aunt Teri. She always makes me laugh. My Dad's side of the family are all comedians. Everytime we have a family gathering we all laugh so hard because when they all get together it's a laugh-fest.

I worked at Andrea's office last night filing and filing and filing until 8:30PM. I even managed to fit a workout video in last night before RML arrived. I have noticed I just have a lot more energy if I get some sort of workout in each day.

This weekend is supposed to be hot hot hot! I can't wait! Am I crazy? Yes! I love the hot weather! Madison thinks 85 is hot. Today it is currently 94 without a cloud in the big blue sky. This is the Texas weather I love! I'm a bit disappointed that Houston isn't as hot - more humid - and they have a lot more rain. Oh well, the ocean is only 2 hours away at most. I supposed I can substantiate all that into a reason to move.. oh yeah and RML lives there.

There is a guy at my work (not RML) that always makes comments to me about how good I look, or he'll say "has anyone told you they love you today?" - I just always answer "yes". He says all of this really loud too so the entire office here's it. I'm not sure if it's just flummery or if he's hitting on me or if he's just being nice...