{2004-07-20}
Hurry up and wait!

Last night we had a work dinner and reservations were at 6:30PM. The reason for this dinner was for the Regional VP to take us all out and celebrate another month of great sales and to get everyone's feedback on new products and programs, etc. Anyway, there was a short meeting at the office prior to dinner that started at 5PM. At 6PM the VP still wasn't finished so I was sent ahead of the group to save our reservation. I got there around 6:25PM. I waited and I waited and I waited and finally at 7:25PM they all arrived. I understand that my boss didn't feel he should interrupt his boss, but what about me? I was sitting there waiting by myself hoping that because I was there they wouldn't give our table away - the only reason I went ahead is because we reserved a room. I felt it was quite rude that no one told the VP to wrap it up considering. Oh well. It wasn't too horrible I guess.

This guy at work is REALLY starting to get on my nerves. He is WAAAAYYYY too complimentary to me. Like yesterday for example, first thing he says when I walk in is "there's Miss America" and then later "Amber, you look marvelous today" and even at dinner my boss made the comment that this guy keeps the office interesting - basically because this guy is from Amarillo and has the Texas twang and is a country boy and has funny slang, etc. - he of course says "no, Amber makes the office better". What the hell? It's really getting on my nerves and apparently he makes comments about how good I look to RML when RML is in town for meetings, etc. RML said that it's starting to make him irritated as well, but since our relationship is still on the down low there isn't much to be said. However, if this guy says anything that I feel is inappropriate today I will have to let him know it isn't appreciated or welcome. Boys are so dumb! I think this guy is an alcoholic as well. At dinner he drank probably 5 very large drafts and then proceeded to drink 3 glasses of Chianti. When they got there he said to me "how many glasses of wine have you had already?" Just because I had to wait for their inconsiderate asses doesn't mean I had to drink - I drank, but it was H2O.

I really can hardly stand hearing about RML's ex anymore. I know that she is constantly a topic because of the divorce, but once this is over I really hope she isn't a conversation piece for a LONG LONG time - if not forever. I know that she might come up sometime but not in the same context as now. I'm sick to death of hearing about her. RML talked to his Mom last night and he told her that I was coming in this weekend and that he was happy about that especially since Friday might be a hard day for him. She asked him if I was coming to town because I felt guilty. Guilty for what? Their marriage was on the rocks when I met him and she filed on him; not the other way around. Of course, the timing of "us" may have been less than opportune, but if not then, when? I don't have any regrets nor does RML. I think she has just been a little skeptical which is understandable. He said that his Mom felt sad because she wishes that she had the opportunity to get to know me like she did the ex. Meaning - they lived near her and she saw them all the time. My heart goes out to his Mom since she lost her husband just a little over 6 months ago. It's going on 11 years since I lost my sister and I still ache for her. My Grandfather lost my Grandmother a week after RML lost his father. He is so lost without my Grandmother and I know that RML's Mom is just as lost without her husband. Death is so hard to deal with at times. We all know it is going to happen, but it still shocks us and hurts so much.