{2004-07-19}
The Ewing's....

RML and I went to Southfork Ranch this past weekend. It was actually fun and there were interesting facts I never knew. Such as: none of the filming was done in the house - the owners at the time would not allow it. All the outdoor filming was only allowed to be done during the summer months of June - August. Even the "winter" scenes! Can you imagine wearing one of Sue Ellen's furs in 100 degree weather? The pool looked much smaller than I had remembered on the show - reason being? They put mirrors in the shallow end to make it look like an Olympic sized pool. Also, they would tie a clear plastic tube around a swimmer and then two people would hold clear strings on either side and gently pull them back. This made it look as though they were swimming laps when in fact they weren't even moving! Also, the drive way is nowhere near the length of what it was in the show. They actually would just film the car driving up and then stop the film start them all over again and repeat this process and during editing they would splice the frames. They also had Jock's Lincoln - the original from the show - on display. It really was cheesy, but so much fun!

Yesterday I was sick all day and we didn't go to church. Instead we watched movies all day and RML did some work while I took naps. I felt bad since I didn't want him to be bored, but I had a horrible headache. He actually finished quite a bit of work he was behind on so I guess it was a good thing. We watched the movie The Butterfly Effect. That was a bit unsettling at times, but really ended up being a really good movie. Ashton Kutcher actually played the role well. I was surprised because I didn't think he would do well in a serious role. Today I still have a headache.

It's Nordstrom's semi-Annual sale and I am going to head over there during lunch. I am hoping to find a pair of black pants for work and maybe another button-down shirt. If I can't find them for a reasonable price I won't buy them, but I really do need a pair of black pants that fit for this Fall/Winter. I think going to Nordstrom's will make my head feel better.

This week RML is making an offer to the ex. If she doesn't accept it they have mediation on Friday which could potentially cost them $4,000 and if Friday doesn't end with signed documents their next court date is August 23rd in which they go to trial. We are both hoping it doesn't come to that and that she will accept his offer - it's actually a very fair offer - this week. He's making sure that she knows this is his best offer and that she needs to realize the amount of money that will be spent Friday and next month on lawyer fees if she doesn't take it. This will come out of community money and she will just get less. I cross my fingers that this will be over this Friday. Friday could either be really good or really bad.