{2006-04-18}
Momma bears....

I talked to my Mom on Sunday and she told me "Dad and I bought our tickets to go to Maine in August, I can't wait!". I didn't say anything but in my head I was thinking - are you forgetting an important event that will be happenning in August that you already promised to be around for? I am not asking her to try to be here when I have the baby I just wanted her to be here afterwards. Maybe two weeks after I have the baby she could come down and meet her grandbaby and help me because I am sure I will need some help and guidance from my Momma. I'm just so surprised... towards the end of the conversation she mentioned something about how she wanted to come see me too, she hadn't told Dad yet and when would be the best time. It's funny - the best time would be the same time she's going to Maine to visit my brother and his wife and two girls. I guess I am just hurt that this wouldn't be on the top of her list of things to do this summer. I haven't told her yet how it made me feel because I was too irritated at the time and didn't want to say anything bad. Looking back over the years my parents have NEVER come to visit me in the 8 years I have lived in Texas. I take that back - they came last year for my WEDDING. I understood before that they didn't come visit because it made more sense for me to come up there since it would be just one person traveling and that way I could see all my family but after I got married which is almost a year now - I am still traveling to see them. I guess that is just how it goes. I'd have to say that this is the one disadvantage to being from a family of 5 children - someone gets ignored. Apparently I am the one who gets ignored. My parents visited my sister in Georgia when she had Illeana, they visited Bob and Carrie in South Carolina when they had Chloe and me? they "visited" for my wedding.
I do know that they don't have tons of extra money and they are both working now and would have to take off work but all I was asking was for my Mom to come down. Maybe my sister Promise will come down instead. I will gladly buy her plane ticket. I guess I will talk to her about that next weekend when I see her in Illinois.
RML is irritated by the fact that my Mom chose to visit my brother instead of me - the timing couldn't have been worse. His Mom can't wait to come down. Unfortunately, I know she will drive me crazy when it comes to our baby. I will probably not agree with how she thinks things need to be done.
Last night I was finally drifting off to sleep when all of a sudden I felt the strangest movement in my belly. It was so weird because it was so much stronger than any of the other movements I have been feeling lately. It felt like she was doing summersaults in there. It was so cute and exciting. It took me a long time to fall back asleep and consequently I am so tired today. It was hard to work out this afternoon and I was glad to be done. Another girl at work is also pregnant and she is 3 months along and she has started wearing maternity clothes and because she isn't showing yet she just looks fat and over the past three months she's probably gained 25 lbs. I feel bad for her because she is going to get so huge. She is going to end up with 50 lbs. of extra weight to lose. Just like my cousin Becky. Luckily, I will still weigh less than RML when I give birth. I am still within my weight guidelines so I feel like I am doing good so far. I am sure keeping up with my workouts has something to do with it because I have definitely been eating more.