{2006-03-17}
Week 19

Yesterday was my monthly doctor's appointment. So far I have gained 10 lbs., my blood pressure was good and the baby's heart beat was 152 bpm. Starting next week I am officially half-way there. Only 20 weeks to go. Right now I am going through wardrobe issues. I can no longer wear my regular clothes and my maternity wardrobe is rather sparse. I think it's time to go shopping again and this time I need shirts. Previously it was pants. I also ordered two new bras because my boobs are even bigger than before. It's ridiculous how big they are.
Last night I had a horrible night's sleep. RML came home around midnight after a work happy hour/dinner and of course was chatty as can be and then he falls asleep and I remain awake. From that point on I was restless and couldn't seem to stay asleep.
I'm almost positive a girl I work with is having an affair with an ex-coworker of ours. Normally this would be no big deal except for the fact that they are both married and both have 6-month-old babies at home (he also has a 4 and 6 year old). I can't believe that they are being so stupid and playing this game. I guess they are just having fun screwing each other. It's pretty sad. I am also getting irritated that every Friday 3 out of 5 of us come in EXTREMELY hung over EVERY Friday. When do people start maturing and grow up and take responsiblity? They also leave early every Thursday night so that they can start partying. It's getting tiresome. Previously I had thought that I wanted to come back to work but I am becoming more and more disenchanted with this place that I will be glad to be done with the headaches and all the gossip and drama. It's getting out of control.
I spoke to my sister Michelle last night and it was an unsettling conversation. She actually spoke of possibly having a baby. I can't believe this. The girl's husband doesn't work, she waitresses (at a pizza place)and she has a 7-yr-old daughter that she does not get child support for. How the HELL does she expect to pay for a new baby and where would she put this baby? They have a 2 BR house that is about 1000 sq ft (no joke) that they rent. It's dirty and dingy and reeks of smoke. I can't believe she actually CHOSE this life for herself. I know that money isn't everything but having a loser husband who refuses to work isn't such a great thing. It's so sad for me to talk to her about this. I don't want to hurt her feelings so I never tell her how I truly feel. I know it's wrong of me to judge but it's just such a sad situation. I feel horrible because I think ill thoughts about her life. Although I start to wonder why she's talking about babies all of a sudden. First, I was getting married and then all of a sudden she was getting married too. Now I am pregnant and she wants to be too. It's almost as if she can't stand that I am getting attention because I'm pregnant. I don't even LIVE up there but I know that I am a topic at family get-togethers. But who isn't when they are pregnant?
It's an exciting time for parents and grandparents. I would think that my sister would be excited for me as I was for her and for my sister-in-law when they were pregnant. It seems she's more focused on herself and when she can do the same thing. I hope this entry doesn't sound self-centered... I am just trying to figure out my sister and her intentions and why she chooses not to succeed in life.