{2005-08-09}
Happy days

My sister says she is getting married on September 24th. I am not happy about this. I really don�t want to go to her wedding but I am her sister and I should be excited for her. She doesn�t have a dress. I assume she isn�t having bridesmaids, she doesn�t know where she�s getting married or by whom. She hasn�t reserved anything yet and she wants to keep it really simple. She really should just go to the JP and get married and just have my Mom and Dad there. This is stupid. I also hadn�t planned on going up there. I feel like a big whiny baby about the whole thing but I just can�t stand the guy she�s marrying. I suppose he�s the best pick out of all the losers she�s dated. That isn�t saying much.
I still have to meet with my boss to let her know I am interested in the other position and get my resume to HR to follow the proper channel. Basically, from my chat with Shelby, I have the position. That makes me really happy.
Tonight I am going to the Astros game. They are playing the Nationals and I hope they kick their a**.
RML and I are going to meet with a financial planner in the next month to set up all of our finances, retirement, will, etc. I think it is such a smart thing to do so that if anything (God forbid!) should happen to either one of us nothing will be held up in court and the payouts will be well-documented.
Today I ran 3 miles and it really made me feel good. I haven�t been feeling up to running lately and haven�t enjoyed it. Today I actually enjoyed it. I think my cramps, mood, medications; etc all took a toll on me. I am hoping that this is now my upward spiral and I can feel back to normal.
RML should be back in town now from Big D. I missed him the past 2 days. I�m glad we will be going home together tonight. He is supposed to go to Baltimore/New York this Thursday and Friday but I think that might be pushed back until next week. I will be happy if he is able to push that back.
I want to go to LA in October to surprise visit my brother for his 21st birthday. I think that would be so fun. I guess I will have to talk to RML about that. I could see my girl Madison too. That would be great. I always get these great ideas however and they never pan out. I guess we will see.
The topic on my morning talk show was about the homeless. One caller referred to them as "urban pioneers". Another caller told about how he was homeless. He said that his mother was an alcoholic, father was a marine and abusive. He dropped out of high school in 9th grade and took a duffle bag and headed to Houston. Arrived in Houston and lived on the streets for a month or two. He then begged a business to let him use their phone and he called all of the roofing companies out of the yellow pages. Finally, one of them told him if he showed up, he had a job. He started work and started making money. He got his GED, proceeded to get an Associates degree and finally ended up with a Doctorates. He is now a lawyer and has his own practice. He was saying how some homeless don't want to change, many are mentally ill and others find jobs and make something of their life but all of them put themselves into their homeless situation and its up to them to get themselves the help they need. I see panhandlers daily and never give them money because they are usually overweight "canadians" and have all their limbs and look as though they could get a job but are too lazy.