{2005-04-12}
Do I hear bells ringing?

It is official, RML asked me to marry him. It was really romantic and sweet and even though it wasn�t a surprise, it was incredible! He had been planning to take me to Fredericksburg, TX for the weekend (a small Germantown in the hill country) where it would be so beautiful with all of the wild flowers in bloom. He changed his mind and asked me if I�d like to go to Vail for the weekend. Absolutely! I haven�t been skiing since last Winter and that was in WI. My most memorable ski adventure prior to Vail was in Norway � that�s a few chapters ago. Anyway�. He booked our tickets and room on Friday afternoon and we headed to Vail on a 6:30 AM flight (I need to fire that travel agent�haha). The skiing was incredible and even though RML prefers the blue/blacks he stayed on the Greens with me. I�m glad he did because I actually fell the third time down but I did not lose my skis � RML calls that a yard sale � when you lose your skis and poles� Anyway, that made me scared so I was starting to not enjoy the skiing so much. Every time I started going fast I tensed up and came to a halt. After doing this down the mountain I was so ready to go to the room and soak in a hot bath but I knew RML wasn�t finished skiing. So we took the gondola up to the top and we started our descent (again). RML pulled me off to the side in between some fir trees and out of the wind. There just happened to be a huge rock sitting there as well. It was our own secret alcove. It was here that he asked my hand in marriage. Of course I said �yes� and the thing I will never forget is our kiss and his loving words. The funny thing that made it even more memorable is when he took off his ski to go down on one knee. He went to kneel and instead his right foot sunk with snow just above his knee. He didn�t have to kneel at that point. It really was so funny. I took a picture of him. I think you had to be there for it to be as funny but it really was� anyway, my ring is beautiful. It�s a round solitaire and it is beautiful and sparkles and it is almost colorless and flawless. RML told me that he had been wondering to himself if he would be nervous as he was when he asked his now ex-wife to marry him. He said he wasn�t nervous at all� that made him feel so happy that he had no doubts and didn�t feel anything as he did before. I did not feel this way with Will and that makes me happy as can be. He didn�t have to say so many words and we just knew as we looked into each other�s eyes on that mountain top in Colorado that we are going to be together forever. OK, enough of the sap. That night we went to Vail Village and had dinner. We were so tired from our early morning and skiing all day. The next day the temperature dropped about 5 degrees and the wind picked up and it began to snow. That was the worst day of skiing for me. I was so cold, my cheeks were wind burned and the snow stung my face. We went to eat and I threw up. RML said he�d take me back to the room but I had to ski to get there. By the time we got to the bottom my stomach was better and the weather had cleared so we stayed on the bottom half of the mountain the rest of the day. I was scared that day and it made skiing difficult. Every year I get older I become more frightened by speed and height. It really isn�t fair I tell you! Anyway, Monday was the best skiing. I was confident and skied blues all day. I never did venture a black and I think it had a lot to do with Madison�s story of her fall. That scared me so I stayed off the blacks and where I was comfortable. Thankfully RML didn�t get upset that I didn�t do the blacks. I think he would rather not have to put me back together again if I fell on the blacks. Anyway, we are happy in love and I am so excited about my life to come with RML.