{2005-03-29}
What to do, what to do....

I have a dilemma on my hands. RML is an only child, has only a few close friends and his family is not close. He does not talk to anyone but his Mother on a regular basis and wasn�t interested in a going to his Mother�s family�s family reunion earlier this past fall. I am in a completely different situation as I am one of 5 earthly siblings, my parents both came from families of 7 and each of their siblings had at least 2 children and that leaves me with dozens upon dozens of cousins and they are all starting to have their own children. So anyway, my dilemma is this: I have 2 sisters, 3 best friends and one cousin I want to have in my wedding party. RML really only has 2 prospective groomsmen and if he had to pick more it would just be to fill space. The other part of the dilemma is that this is his second marriage and his first marriage was almost 4 years ago� many of his family members did not attend the last one and many more will not attend this one (if any � besides his mother, her brother and cousin). Basically, the entire wedding would be about me and my family and friends. When RML and I spoke about the wedding party last night on the way home from work he seemed very put out by it. He started going down the road of how no one will make it from his family (besides the small handful) and he wouldn�t have enough groomsmen to cover my bridesmaids and he wouldn�t expect his family to come because its too soon after his first marriage and he hasn�t been divorced for even a year. I actually feel somewhat selfish in all of this. First of all, it was his choice to have married and become unmarried, it was his choice to agree to the date I suggested and it was only a suggestion to have it in Dallas. For obvious reasons we would not have it in Ohio considering how very few people would come from his family and that is just as far as Dallas is from IL/WI. I picked Dallas as a neutral place. Now I�m starting to think it�s not such a great idea and that maybe we should consider the destination wedding instead. I�m starting to get very discouraged. I think his idea of a perfect wedding would be for he and I to go off by ourselves and get married � to me, that sucks. The only reason I think he would prefer that is so that he doesn�t have to go through the hurt of having so little family to invite to the wedding. Maybe I am being selfish� maybe I need to compromise but c�mon already, this is MY FIRST wedding! Dammit Jannit!
Don�t worry, the wedding is still on but I may have to make some concessions. Why are men so damn moody? And they say women are, sheesh!

Why can't life be perfect????