{2005-03-10}
Big bad bonus... yeah right

I never have any complaints about my Dad except for last night. I called to talk to my Mom and he answered so I talked to him instead and I let him know that our wedding was July 9th in Dallas. I asked him if he could come (jokingly, because of COURSE my Dad will come, right?!) and he said, well, I�ll have to see. I can�t just take days off here and there willy nilly. Huh? I told him that even if I were to have my wedding in WI I would have wanted him to at least take that Friday off for final arrangements and the rehearsal dinner. He just said, �oh�. The funny thing is � I�m not asking for any money and he took off 2 days when Patrick was up north, 2 more (at least) when Bob and Carrie were up last and did not have to take any when I was up last. They even drove to South Carolina just to visit Bob, Carrie and babies last June and spent a week there. Anyway, my feelings were hurt and the more I thought about it the more it hurt. Last night I would call my Dad lachrymose. What a big brat! I called and talked to my Momma Bear this morning and her first words were July 9th! Yeah! She said that she gave my Dad a hard time for being such a jerk last night. She�s so excited and she will find a way to get them all there and she said that my Dad can take the time off � after all, it�s not everyday that their oldest daughter gets married. Momma Bear is the best. She�s going to help me (she and my Grandma) make a veil � maybe. Otherwise I might see if I can borrow my cousin Jenny�s, that way I have �something borrowed�.

I got my bonus check today. After taxes and my contribution to my Employee Savings Plan it is now $2400. Apparently many people received crappy bonuses. It still friggin amazes me that a $10,000 gentleman club bill is ok to pay several times throughout the year but a decent bonus for our hard work, extra hours, missed lunches is unheard of to be paid. I guess I�m just a peon. The sales guys get around $30,000 for a bonus and they would consider that bad. I guess sales is the job to be in but it�s not meant for everyone. Anyway�.. blah! At least I got a $2000 raise. When you divide that by 52 it really doesn�t amount to much extra a paycheck. OK, I�m done complaining� for now.

RML talked about possibly going to Australia for our honeymoon! How awesome would that be? We�ll see�. It probably won�t happen but that would be a fun trip. I�ve always wanted to go to Australia.