{2005-02-01}
Mother in law from hell

I had the strangest dream last night. My friend Madison was living in Chicago again and we went out to the Alumni Club and there were all these people there that I didn�t know � they were her friends I guess. Then we all went back to her apartment and she lived on the 10 floor and we had to take the stairs since the elevator was out of order and we kept having to go back down to the car because we�d forget things. Then my cousins showed up with my niece Illeana and we were putting make up on them. Then Illeana was chasing after her pet � it looked like a stuffed animal but it seemed alive or something... actually now that I think about it the "pet" looked like a Gremlin. There was absolutely no point to my dream...

On a sad note my cousin's Dad passed away on the 19th of January. His last hours were painful and no amount of morphine was helping him. My cousins, his mother and his wife were all able to say their goodbyes. RML and I were already heading up north to see my little "big" brother who was back from Okinawa so we stopped by that Friday and RML met my cousins and we spent the day there before heading to my parents 5 hours North. Of course as luck would have it, WI had 10 inches of snow dumped on them and we had to drive through it. It took 7 and 1/2 hours to get there! Ugh! RML was clenching the steering wheel everytime a semi would pass us... once they went by we would be in a complete white out and could not see for about 20 seconds so we just had to hope the road was staying straight ... one time we were needing to exit and just then had a white out so we weren't sure if we'd make the exit in time. At last minute the "dusting" cleared and we made our exit.
We had a great time in WI with the family and for once I was able to spend the day with my Dad and Grandpa on their birthday. They are both on Jan 22nd.
We went four-wheeling on the lake and it was pretty fun with all the snow. My brother took me out first and then RML and I went out twice more (the last time was because RML wanted to) but it was beautiful. The sun was setting and the snow looked pinkish and the sky on the horizon was deep magenta with blue layers and light pink on the fringe. It was beautiful and RML and I stopped and shared a kiss. A kiss I'll always remember.
RML's Mom is a nightmare! How did I get stuck with such a horrible soon to be mother-in-law? She actually called RML and complained about the fact that we went to visit my family for the frickin' weekend and then when we had to stay until Tuesday because of my cousin's Dad's wake Monday night she said that "I can't believe you are letting her make you go to such a distant relatives' funeral". How the F--K does she know my relationship with them? I GREW UP WITH THEM BITCH! Just because their family hates each other doesn't mean my family is that way. AHHHHHHH! I just want to scream at her. Here's the latest: RML is going to have to spend at least a week in Ohio for a trial in regards to his father's death due to being exposed to asbestos which gave him cancer that he died from last January. RML told her that as soon as they were out of court each day he was going to have to focus on working a few hours. She exploded saying I'm more important than she is and he took time off to visit my family. WE WENT OVER A WEEKEND AND WE WENT WHEN THE SALES GUYS WERE IN VEGAS FOR A NAT'L SALES CONFERENCE! WHYYY???? Why must I be punished like this????
She's enough to drive someone away. She was giving RML her "Woe is me" speech last night ... the one where "she doesn't have any place in his life anymore" "her life has no meaning" "she has nothing left to live for" "she's going to have to quit her job - this one is beyond our comprehension. We have NO idea why she thinks she has to quit after the trial is over"... blah blah blah.
Well, I guess I am finished ranting and raving today.
My brother and wife and two baby girls are moving to Connecticut in April. I'm definitely going to go visit them there. I've never been... reminds me of the movie Holiday Inn - "how will I get to Connecticut if I've never been to Connecticut.." or something like that.