{2005-01-02}
Pary like it's 1999...

Welcome to 2005. When I think of what I have been up to for the past year I am a bit surprised. Last January I had to go to Illinois for my Grandma Babe's funeral. She died suddenly in her sleep. My Grandpa was so distraught because just that night they had been grouchy towards each other which in itself is strange because I do not ever in my 28 years remember my Grandparents fighting... my Mother even does not remember them fighting but once or twice in her 20 years at home. The paramedics thought that my Grandmother died of a heart attack. No autopsy was done since there really was no reason behind it. My Grandfather thought that she had died of a broken heart and that it was his fault. He woke up in the middle of the night and realized he was sleeping on her arm so he went to move it and realized she felt cold and knew that she had passed... 60 years of marriage and they had only spent one night apart. We all miss my Grandma. My Grandpa wrote in his Christmas card to me "I realize now more than ever what a wonderful woman your Grandmother was and is... I miss her terribly."
I was also dating Andrew last year. I remember that I was constantly trying to figure out what his deal was. Was he serious about me? Did he want to be with me? Then there was the issue of his not wanting to have sex. He kept telling me that it was because of his medication. It really sucks to feel undesirable. Anyway, he broke up with me the first week of April. I moved on and out of nowhere ended up with RML. Of course Andrew wanted me back now a month after he broke up and 2 weeks of my trying to convince him I was worth it - you should never have to try to convince someone of that - if they don't see that in you then you need to kick them to the curb!
I spent my Summer traveling back and forth to Houston on the weekends and with RML coming to stay with me every other weekend and sometimes during the week. I moved to Houston in August and started my new job which started off on the rocky side but I am getting used to the girls and the changes now and don't mind it so much.
My cousin's Dad is still hanging in there but his brain tumor surgery has left him with paralysis on the right side of his body. He may never speak again. He is being fed with a feeding tube. His wife and mother exercise his arm and leg - the paralysis may be temporary they aren't sure as of yet. He is finally coming home after 2 weeks in the hospital and my cousins having to hear every week that this is the last week of his life.... The thing about him not being able to speak is awful. He was a great singer as are his 4 daughters. Every weekend he played in a band and he was lead vocal and guitar. He and my cousins sang with his guitar at my Great Grandma's funeral, Heather's funeral and last year my Grandma's funeral. They sing at each other's weddings... I also wanted him to play at mine. It's so hard to know what to say to my cousin. I spoke to Cindy yesterday and to her Mom for over an hour. They are hanging in their and ask for our prayers.
Today after church service RML and I went to an inquiry session that I wanted to attend to find out how to convert to Catholicism and become a member of the church. Do you know it will take over a year to do so? Interesting.... I plan to follow through with it because RML and I want to be of the same religion. He is going to try to get his marriage annulled through the catholic church. I think that would be great because even though the law says he was once divorced the Catholic church can reverse that and he can be back to the "never married" status. I know that would make him feel happier.
RML's Mother has not called since she returned to Cleveland last Monday evening. She never bothered to call and wish us a Happy New Year and RML wants to make her be the first to call - they really are so stubborn.
Over all I think 2004 was a good year but by no means the best year. I am looking forward to more stability this year of 2005.
Remember when the Prince song "1999" seemed so far away? It's funny to see old movies that are about the future showing flying car and automated everything like the Jetsons and the time stamp they put on the screen is 2010. For some reason I don't see us living in a city in the sky in only 5 years. It takes 5 years to build a freakin' highway! Ha!

PS - Madison... just sending a Holla out to my girl (for some reason that reminds me of Paul). I agree... a bit too much information... hehe