{2004-09-30}
It's a Meet the Parents kind of weekend....

Today RML and I are heading to Illinois and Wisconsin. We are flying into Chicago O'Hare even though my parents live closer to Minneapolis/St.Paul because I want to see my Grandfather who is in Illinois at his summer home. He plans to fly back down to Florida at the end of October to get back to the warm weather. I feel sad for him being all alone in the world without my Grandmother. Do you know that my Grandparents have only spent 2 nights apart in their entire married life? Can you imagine? 57 years of marriage with only 2 nights apart and the past 20 years they have spent every day together since my Grandfather retired. He used to work for the Railroad as an engineer and he drove the trains. That was a popular job to have back in the day... you don't hear of many Railroad engineers these days. This will be his first time back to his FL home without my Grandma. It makes me so sad and all I want to do is protect him and spend time with him and keep him from being lonesome. I'd like to have him come visit me in Houston for a week some time next year to give him somewhere new to visit. He and my grandmother had planned to visit me in Dallas sometime this year since they'd never been.

RML is going to meet so many people I am sure he will be a bit overwhelmed. First, my grandfather and then more than likely my Aunt and her 9 (yes, I said nine!) children - I am sure my Uncle will be at work. My Aunt, Uncle and gang all live at my Grandparents farmhouse and my Grandparents made the great room into a small apartment for when they came up North. That way, they kept the family home and it was maintained. Very smart thinking on their part. RML will then meet my Mom, Dad, Michelle, Illeana, Promise, Grandma Kat and Grandpa Fred, Great Grandma Marie, Great Aunt Carol, Uncle Bill, Aunt Sue, Marilyn & Kenny. That's quite a few and that's only a handful of my Mom and Dad's side of the family. There are at least 50 more people that are of immediate family for him to meet. He won't meet them until we get married next Summer or if unfortunately there is another funeral.. I really hope not.

RML and I will marry next June I believe. That's the plan that is starting to take root. I think it will be in Eau Claire, WI which is 40 minutes from my parents but only 4 hours from the family in Illinois and that makes it possible for my older relatives in WI to be able to make it since it's a relatively short trip for them. I found 3 hotels on line that I'd like to take a look at for the reception. I'm sure we can have the wedding at my Aunt and Uncle's church - 3 blocks from their house. That gives somewhere for the wedding party to get ready and also a contact for me to have help plan the ceremony. I realized as my Mom and I started thinking about things that I have a lot of creative people in my family. Two of my aunts in Illinois can bake and decorate cakes like the pros and can put together floral arrangements like none other. My cousin David's wife Joane made all her own invitations, table center pieces and bouquets. She said she'd be happy to help make those. Now obviously I'd pay my family to help but it will be haf the cost as if I had perfect strangers do this. Anyway.... just thinking ahead of schedule. I know, I know we aren't even engaged yet - but we will be by January 1, 2005 - that's the timeframe RML gave his Mom.

Speaking of weddings. Lisa and Brian have decided to have their wedding in Hawaii. April 30th is the date. RML thinks that is rather an expensive wedding to attend but Lisa is still one of my best friends and I would expect her to be at my wedding as does she for me at hers. Besides, RML and I make plenty of money to be able to take an actual vacation - it does run very close to when we'd like to get married and that isn't exactly a good time to be spending a lot of money. I am sure we will be able to find a special for 5 days or something fun like that. Anyway...

I CANNOT WAIT TO SEE MY FAMILY! It has been way too long and normally I would have already seen them at least once this past summer. Oh well, sometimes things don't work out the way you want but other times they work themselves out. I bought Illeana the CUTEST little outfit at Gap - it's a soft, fluffy pink GAP logo sweatshirt with the cutest gray bootcut pants with sparkles down the sides. Illeana loves Pink so she'll be in heaven. I also bought her Hello Kitty pen, paper, envelope and stamp set and then found a vile of bath confetti that has sparkles in it! My Mom is just going to LOVE me for that one.

Well, I will be sure to update once we return Sunday eve or Monday AM.

Have I mentioned how excited I am???? :)