{2004-08-05}
Money talks

"I would postulate that if great minds think alike, stupid ones do also."

Last night I watched 48 Hours on CBS. Here's what happenned.... Texas Tycoon millionaire Steven Beard was living large with his new wife, Celeste. Celeste and Steven met at the Austin Country Club. Steven was widowed after being married 45. Celeste was a waitress. Here's the low down from Celeste: �I wanted somebody to take care of me and he wanted someone to take care of and so he asked me to move in,� says Celeste. �And I was, like, OK. He was just what I needed at the time and that�s how it started.� Steven was very generous to Celeste. Lots of jewels and lots of everything. They had two ridiculously big houses- one of which was in Austin�s wealthiest neighborhoods. Celeste spent lots of money. Steven Beard was co-owner of a local television station. He was rich, powerful, and an important member of the community. But his fairy-tale life was soon shattered. But five years into her marriage, Celeste�s fairy-tale life began to unravel in the early morning hours of Oct. 2, 1999.

911: 911, what�s your emergency?

Steven: I need an ambulance. Hurry.

Steven: My guts just jumped out of my stomach. They blew out. Yeah, they blew out of my stomach. They�re lying on my stomach.

911: OK, they�re lying on your stomach?

Steven: Yes, I�m in bed. I�m in awful pain.

911: I�m having a hard time figuring out what happened.

Steven: I don�t know what happened. I�ve never had this happen before.

�He was on the bed. It looked bad. You look at it and it�s not something you see everyday,� remembers Howard. �Everybody was thinking, he�s had some type of surgery. Hernia or something, and he�s blown his incision.�

Shortly after Sgt. Gregory Truitt arrived, Celeste and her daughter Kristina emerged from a separate wing of the house where they�d been sleeping.

�I heard a woman ask me, �What are you doing in my house? What�s going on,� remembers Truitt. �They hadn�t heard our knocks, our phone calls, all of a sudden something woke them up.� �She immediately started screaming, saying, �Don�t let him die, don�t let him die. And she was very frantic. The daughter was very composed and rational,� says Truitt.

Minutes later, it became clear that this wasn�t a medical problem they were dealing with. It was a crime scene.

�I was talking to Celeste Beard and the daughter, and deputy Thompson came in the room to inform me that a shotgun shell had been found in the bed or near the bed where Mr. Beard was,� says Truitt.

Although Steven�s wallet and some of his cash appeared to be missing, police also noticed that most of the couple�s valuables were not taken. And something about the way the drawers were ransacked looked too deliberate. At this point, police started to wonder, was this a burglary gone bad or a murder attempt staged to look like one? They wheeled him out in a gurney and I come up to him, and I told him I loved him,� remembers Celeste. �He�s talking to me, he says he loves me too.� Steven survived that night, but spent the next four months in the hospital, with Celeste at his side. �He did everything for me,� says Celeste, which included financing a successful custody battle for her twin daughters, Kristina and Jennifer, from a previous marriage. �I wanted everything for them that I didn�t have.� �Her goal was for Steve to adopt the girls. It was all for the girls, so that the girls would have some security,� says friend Ana. Three years after he married Celeste, Steven adopted the 17-year-old twins -- and Celeste finally had a complete family. Steve was 75, but his age didn�t slow him down. Celeste was only 37. But in January 2000, four months after he was shot, Steven died. Steven was shot by Celeste's lesbian friend -- the lesbian claims Celeste tricked her into shooting Steven. Celeste's twins testified against her at the trial stating she would make comments like "why doesn't he just die already" and she was very mentally abusive to them all. The motivation behind the murder? Steven was obviously worth more dead than alive -- if he was dead all the money, estate, EVERYTHING went to Celeste. If she divorced him she'd only get half and now that she was arrested all the money goes to her twins and 3 children from Steven's prior marriage.

It's so sad that money talks. Money has a big mouth. People are even willing to KILL for money. I don't understand how anyone can take someone else's life and live with themselves. I guess you have to be insane, crazy, out of your mind... or just a mean hateful revengeful person.

Here is Steven and Celeste.