{2004-08-02}
Law & Order - Big D

This is how I felt yesterday... soooo tired! Today I had to go to court in down town Dallas. Why did I have to go to court you ask? Well, back in January on the 26th I received a ticket - no, not for speeding - a ticket for "failure to yield". Here is what happenned: I was on my way to work and the Tollway was a complete mess so I exited at Frankford. There is a stoplight within 4 blocks after you exit and turn right. I was pulling up to the stoplight which was red and then it changed to green so I never actually stopped but was going about 10MPH when I came upon the green light. I went through the intersection (that's what you do when it's green) and then I heard the honking of an emergency vehicle (you know that annoying horn they all have) and I looked over to my right to see one pulling out of the parking lot. In order to get out of the way I had to finish going through the intersection and pull off to the right. Apparently this is not what you are supposed to do - I didn't think sitting in the middle of an intersection with an emergency vehicle honking at you was a good place to "yield". Well, a police man happenned to be turning left at the light that I was going through and quickly came over to me and pulled me over (although, he didn't pull me over - I was ALREADY pulled over on my own accord). He told me that I failed to yield to the emergency vehicle. WHAT? I don't understand! Why am I getting a ticket when I clearly YIELDED? Of course, water works that I am, I started crying. The police man wrote the ticket, didn't bother saying anything else to me and threw the ticket and my license and insurance back at me in which they all went under my front seat. The nerve of him! Sooo, back to court this morning. I arrived at 8:15AM and waited for roll call; after that the judge explained all our rights, etc. etc. He read the Preamble (this became mandatory after 9/11) and then called about 5 names and said that all of their cases were dismissed. We took a recess and went back in at 9:30AM. My fellow criminals with lawyers all went first and most were dismissed, etc. Finally, he called my name and my case was Dismissed! Yippeeee! I guess Officer Friendly never bothered to show and that was that. Here is my proud "DISMISSED" certificate. What a relief! After I left court around 10:00AM I went to work. Once I arrived at work I had to have "the conversation" with my boss about my leaving the company. He asked if I had found a job yet in Houston and "No I have not" and he said that he'd make some calls down to Houston to see if they could place me there. That went so much easier than I anticipated - he was shocked and disappointed but was very eager to help me stay with the company. I'm so blessed today having both things I was worried about go my way! I forgot to buy my plane tickets last week when they were $120 and now they are $200! I'm going to have to use a credit I have with Continental to get down there this time. I just can't afford $200 when I have moving expenses coming up. As I was walking into the Municipal Court House this morning there were about 3 other girls walking in at the same time. A homeless man (at least he looked that way) was walking past us and said "wow, where are all the pretty ladies coming from"...? I also had a panhandler asking me for money when I parked. How many times do I have to tell you? I don't have any money! None! I can barely feed myself! Sheesh! What do they think? My Momma still has not called me but I found out why. She went to Illinois to visit her Dad and family and go to a conference. She was out of pocket so I'll give her until tomorrow to call. Andrea, Ted and RML and I all went to the Ranger's game on Saturday night. We went over to T&A's around 3 and soaked up some rays for a couple hours before the game. On the way to the game we got stuck in a traffic jam. A semi carrying crude oil jack-knifed and started on fire. It took us 2 hours to get to the game when it normally is about 45 minutes. The one thing I find funny in Texas is that everyone makes there own road when there's any type of traffic back-up. We took the chance and off-roaded with the rental Taurus and made it. It was fun but I was a little nervous! We finally made it to the game at the 5th inning. I guess we didn't miss too much. We still had fun!