{2004-07-28}
Smorgasbord of schtuff....

Tick, Tock, Tick, Tock ...

Why is it when you are waiting for something the clock mooovesss innnn salooowww moootionnnn?

I'm waiting for RML to get back from lunch with his boss. Tick tock. He's telling him about "us" and about the job situation. I hope a hope hope that maybe his boss will tell him that they can make a job for me in Houston. Wouldn't that be saweet! I wouldn't have to find a new job, keep my benefits, vacation, etc. and can carpool to work. However, it would probably be a bit awkward at first since everyone there will just be finding out about RML and Big D and then shortly after discovering RML and ASL are ummm like together or something...

Why is it that just because I eat my lunch at my desk everyone thinks that it's okay to interrupt. I just wonder what the hell they are thinking. I have a fork in hand and am just about to take a bite and they come over and ask me an LOA process question. Umm hello? Do you not see me mid-bite? The polite thing to do would be to say "oh, sorry I see you are eating your lunch --- I'll come back later." Smile, and leave. But do they do that? Hell NO! Damn Gina! What does it take to get a little RESPECT around here. Obviously their question is much more important than my nutrition. The nerve!

I just realized how much I don't like my template. I need to find out how to create my own. This one sucks. As much as I like ya Johnnie, it's time for you to find a new home. I am going to do some research on how to make one. I know, I'm a DORK!

BTW, the guy who always seems compelled to come by my desk during lunch has the last name of Allendorf.. sooo hard not to call him Allendork which I so fondly refer to him as.

RML is STILL not back from lunch.. I guess it's only been a little over an hour, but I am dying to know what is being said right now.. if I could be a fly on the wall there .. or a fly on the plate ... whatever, just want to know.

My little BIG brudder Patrick FINALLY wrote to me and sent me pictures. He is sooo cute! I miss him and hate the fact that he won't be up North when I go to visit. He has gotten quite big - muscular and he looks so grown up, but his little mischevious eyes and smile are still there. Same old brudder.

My Grandpa wrote me a letter responding to one I sent to him that I included a picture of RML and I in. He says that from looking at RML's picture he sees a man of good character and trustworthy... he knows that is important to me and that he can't wait to see me and meet my gentelman friend. I absolutely LOVE my Grandpa... I sure do miss my Grandma. I have been thinking about her a lot lately. I can still see her laugh, her smile and smell her perfume. I'm so lucky to have had such a wonderful loving Grandma as her.

RML is coming in tonight for a meeting he has tomorrow with our in-house counsel and a few Dallas-based energy companies. I like when he comes into town obviously, but I really wasn't expecting him until Friday night. I had to clean house last night and buy groceries. Sometimes having a guest in a 1-bedroom apartment for more than a day or two gets a little cramped and boys are nasty in the bathroom - stinking it up!

It's interesting to be dating someone who's an only child. I'm so used to siblings and he doesn't get the whole "sibling" thing. Very interesting.. he definitely has the "only child" mentality. He's still not back... Grr!

Ever have an Altoid Tangerine Sour? Boy are they SOUR! Especially when you eat like 2 at a time! I love sour sweet tarts.

RML started talking about the ex and all that BS this morning and I finally interrupted him and asked him if it might be possible that for one day her name didn't come up and the situation at hand was left at bay? He actually understood and agreed. I love that about him.. he doesn't take it personal and knows can appreciate the fact that I usually listen endlessly even though it's somewhat uncomfortable for me. I have never wanted something to be over more than I do now. The next mediation is the 16th and if they don't settle there it will be off to court on the 23rd. Did you know that RML smokes? He does and he does it a lot! But, the best thing is this has been a good test for me to see if I would be tempted to. Guess what? I haven't been! I'm cured! Now I just have to cure him of it... he does want to quit but waiting for the stress of the situation to be over with before attempting. Good thinking! My guy is so smart!

He's back! Waiting for him to call me.... well, he won't be calling right now because he is on the phone with Dean in the cube across from me. I thought of a new slang term for my cube. OK here goes - "cribicle". Your cube crib away from your home crib. I know, I'm too cool.. too cool for school.

Bueller, Bueller... where the heck is he????

Last Summer I had the ultimate fling. Here's the scoop. A guy I started dating the summer before my Senior year - Matt Hawver. I actually went out with him a few times my sophomore year before I was eternally grounded because he vamp'ed my neck. I even tried the old "put toothpaste on them" trick, but to no avail there were too many and you just can't keep wearing turtlenecks! Soo... we started dating again that summer and then he went into the Army that Fall. I "dated" him while he was away and waited for him to come back. He came back that Christmas for leave and then tragedy found my family.. he went away again.. I held onto the hope of him just because my sister knew him ....

OK - just talked to RML. RML talked to his boss and his boss is HAPPY as a lark. He thought RML was going to tell him that he was QUITTING. His boss is going to find me a job in Houston at that office. How awesome is that???? Everything is cool.. we're going to transition me out of this role - if they have to they'll set me up in a hotel here in Dallas during the time period if need be. WOOWOOWOW, what a freakin' relief!

The job I would more than likely be placed in is in their legal department. This is awesome because I've been wanting to get back into legal and also the VP said that he knows I'm a good worker, fast learner and great employee. Apparently I've held my own up here in Big D and it's been made known in Houston. AWESOME!

Great new words of the day: roborant, incarnadine and sciolism in which I will now attempt to use in sentences.

-I feel as though I have received a roborant dose of medicine today!

-I just bit my incarnadine lip and it is inflamed and a painful rendition of gum chewing.

-I have a sciolism of vocabulary.

Quote of the day:

"I never practice, I always play."

Colour of the day:

Blue with the exception that the sky is grey.

80% of my office is wearing blue today (I know, my office is only made up of 10 people, but still it's a high percentage, OK?)

PS - the only hard thing I have to do is tell my boss on Monday that RML and I have been dating and that RML has spoken to VP about possible positions for me in H-town office. Also, that I will make this as smooth a transition as possible and will help find my replacement, etc. Interesting conversation I'll be having Monday. I will also have the weird feeling of him thinking of me differently on Monday. RML is having breakfast with my boss tomorrow AM and is going to fill him in on the fact that he is going through a divorce and wanted to let the leadership team of the company know as was advised by the VP. This sets my talk up with him on Monday.