{2004-05-19}
Ya hey dere

Sunday after church RML and I went to Lonestar Park. Lonestar Park is a horse track outside of Dallas. It was a beautiful day, sunny with high temps in the low 80's. Simply beautiful to drive with the sunroof open and feeling the warm late Spring air on your skin. Anyway, I never realized how much work it is and how many things to take into consideration when placing a bet. Also, I didn't realize how cheap you can bet.

First, you have to look at who was forcasted to win. Then, you have to look at their stats .. how old they are, how fast they have been running and what length of races they've been in, who their jockey is, have they been sold recently, how recent their last run was and so on and so forth and what the odds are against them. The last time that I bet on anything alive was dogs at the Lake Geneva Greyhound Kennel Club. Now when I bet there I just picked them by name and color. For instance, on Sunday I bet on the following horses because of names: Platinum Ballerina, One Hot Girl, and my favorite Yaheremenow.

Anyway, regardless of the fact that we did not win a cent. It was still a fun day and new experience. Also, very interesting to see the difference in people when you are sitting in the clubhouse to when you go down outside on the track where you could swear you were at Texas Motor Speedway.